Disappointed by the Parenting Magazine

Recently, my husband brought back one of the local best selling motherhood magazines as he had gotten it for free. I was disappointed to see that it was that particular pretty faced personality covering the front page again. Not one of those A lists, but that is not the reason why, nothing to do with her entertainment performance level. I was mainly disappointed by the chief editor of the magazine. Here’s why.

A couple of years back, I was a single fresh graduate who knew nothing much about parenting and babies. I walked past a newspaper stand and saw the media celebrity endorsing on the same magazine as she had just given birth to her first boy that time. Her words in bold, ” I want him to be a Casanova.” Even then, I frowned and revolted with some disgust inside of me.

So let’s define what is the full meaning of being a Casanova. I Googled and urbandictionary.com defines it as: A smooth-talking charmer who has mastered the art of finding, meeting, attracting and seducing beautiful women into the bedroom. One he accomplishes his goal, he leaves the woman in fear of having a relationship and proceeds to find his next conquest.

This year, she is on the coverpage again and she has 3 boys now. I read her story and readers are reminded that from the previous issue, she wants her eldest son ” to have Casanova-like qualities“. She went on to share that now ” He is good looking and quite the Casanova as lots of girls chase him. He also changes girlfriends often. ” The boy is only less than 10 years old now. The story even went on to say that she wants them to be CEOs in the future and she is in charge of moulding her sons’ personalities by controlling every aspect of their lives. I am not clear what is her rationale behind wanting him to be a successful yet a Casanova. In fact, I feel extremely ashamed that these are coming from the parenting magazine in my country.

Why is the Chief Editor even allowing someone who bares such statements to the parents? Especially in a parenting magazine where parents are looking for inspirations, encouragement and baby trends. My stand is that I am not against her personal wish to desire that for her son and neither do I have any personal prejudice against her as an entertainment artiste.

What is the message is the editor trying to send to the parents who are reading the magazines?

I know that parents are not so naive to tag along with such an aspiration but I believe there has to be a benchmark set somewhere. National media regulators have to play a part and be responsible for what they are saying, especially when it is a parenting magazine which may influence how parents shape and mould their children’s personalities. Though is is not the publisher’s job to educate the kids, they are responsible for what content that channels through.

It is sometimes little wonder that family values start to erode away because the mainstream media made it seem acceptable to do this and that. On top of that, they dress up the stories with public figures so that it seems like since they do it, so let’s do it too. We see this as a norm in fashion and the entertainment industries, but such moral degrading is infiltrating into parenting and families.

I am even more appalled that the Editor is a mother herself and I was not very sure what she was thinking exactly when she decided to let this thing go to print. I hope I havent distorted or exaggerated any facts, this is just my humble opinion when I saw this story.

Whatever it is, this magazine is now like downright dirt cheap to me. Better off to be recycled than stay on my shelf.

Leave a Reply

